Accounting Department

Dept Chair: Betty Christopher
email: betty.christopher@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5343
Counseling: 408-855-5030

Division: Business and Technology
Division Chair: Wael Abdeljabbar.

Learning Outcomes

Students will perform transaction analysis, process accounting information and prepare and analyze reports.

Degree/Certificate:

A.S. Degree
Certificate of Achievement

Accounting Catalog Info (pdf)

Career Options:
  • Accountant (B)
  • Accounts Payable Clerk (AS)
  • Accounts Receivable Clerk (AS)
  • Actuary (B)
  • Auditor (B)
  • Bank Officer (AS/B)
  • Bookkeeper (V/AS)
  • Budget Accountant (B)
  • Cost Accountant (B)
  • Credit Manager (AS/B)
  • Educator (B/D)
  • Financial Analyst (B)
  • Financial Planner (B)
  • General Ledger Accountant (B)
  • Insurance Agent (V/B)
  • Internal Auditor (B)
  • Internal Revenue Agent (B)
  • International Accountant (B)
  • Investment Banker (B)
  • Management Accountant (B)
  • Management Consultant (B/M)
  • Payroll Processor (AS)
  • Public Accountant (B)
  • Purchasing Agent (B)
  • Research Analyst (B)
  • Statistician (B)
  • Tax Accountant (AS/B)
  • Tax Specialist/Preparer (V/B)
  • Treasurer (B)
  • Underwriter (B)

Key:
generally required
(AS) Associate degree
(B) Bachelor's degree
(V) Vocational training

(M) Master's degree required
(D) Doctoral degree preferred

Gainful Employment Disclosure:

Accounting Program

Highlights

Accounting is a popular and growing profession. Demand for Accountants, Auditors, and Tax Preparers is projected to increase in Santa Clara County.The Mission College Accounting Department invites you to study with us as we have a lot to offer:

  • A diverse and dedicated group of instructors who want to help and are eager to see you succeed.
  • Large selection of courses including first-year college accounting as well as more advanced and specialized courses.
  • Online classes in Financial Accounting, Managerial Accounting, and many other accounting courses.
  • Free tutorial support services.
  • Courses leading to a number of goals, including:
    • AS degree/certificate in Accounting,
    • Transfer to a four-year Accounting program,
    • Completion of many courses needed to take the CPA exam,
    • Career advancement for those already employed,
    • Self-employment as a bookkeeper or tax preparer.

Full Time Faculty:

Betty Christopher
email: betty.christopher@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5343

Greg Mostyn
email: greg.mostyn@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5342

Teresa Thompson
email: teresa.thompson@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5349

Associate Faculty

Bill Bjork
email: bill.bjork@wvm.edu

Bill Bernacchi
email: bill.bernacchi@wvm.edu

Johnnie Hui
email: johnnie.hui@wvm.edu

Barbara Madden
email: barbara.madden@wvm.edu

Steve Manske
email: steven.manske@wvm.edu

Mahalakshmi Muralikrishnan
email: maha.murali@wvm.edu

Jose Nava
email: jose.nava@wvm.edu

Howard Randall
email: howard.randall@wvm.edu

Tim Ratchford
email: tim.ratchford@wvm.edu

Lakshmamma Venkata
email: lakshmamma.venkata@wvm.edu

Useful Information for our Students

CPA Educational Requirements (pdf)

Free student membership in CalCPA (website)

Board of Accountancy (website)